New Years Intentions

The word resolutions is  loaded, mostly with perceptions of failure and broken promises. This year, rather than resolving to do anything, I am simply making a list of intentions.

What I intent to focus my attention on this year:

Love, Fun and Laughter

Love is the obvious one, for obvious reasons. Because it’s so obvious, I thought about omitting it, but I didn’t want to read my intentions later, and ask “Where is the love?”, hehe.   The Fun and Laughter – well, I don’t want to take life too seriously. I never have any fun when I do, and where is the fun in that?

Living Joyfully

I intent to live each moment with as much joy as I can, but when I can’t, I intent to allow myself to feel whatever else I’m feeling, to sit with it, hopefully understand it, and then let it go, and come back to joy.

Dancing

Everyday I dance, I have a better day. As someone who loves and respects herself, I think I owe it to myself to try to have more better days, more often. I want to dance, or at least to move, every day. With my hoop, with tunes, or just grooving to the rhythm of the traffic going by – I need to move to feel free.

Sharing

I have made sharing my light and love my life’s work, so sharing has to be included here. This year I intend to branch out – to share more in more ways. I want to share with my writing, with teaching, with my serving, with dancing and in as  many ways as I can, without over extending myself. The flip side of this, is allowing others opportunities to share their gifts with me, to really allow an exchange of energy, love, light, gifts and talents to happen to see what will happen.

Simplicity

I intend to focus on the important things in life, and allow myself to let go of extraneous things. I know what is important to me (Love, family, friends, food, wine, dance, laughter, conversations, nature, reading and writing all make the short list).  I tend to be interested in all things, and while that is great in so many ways, I think this will be the year I try to spend my  limited time, energy, attention and funds on the things that truly matter to me.

My Love

I am getting married this year to an amazing man.   Our relationship, wedding, honeymoon and marriage are taking center stage right now .. . It’s so easy to get carried away with the party. I intent to stay present and focused on what’s really important: The party! Just kidding. But seriously, I am excited to host an event dedicated exclusively to the celebration  of our love. I am so grateful for the opportunity, mostly cause I really do love a good party,  and because it  give me a chance to incorporates so many of the other things that I intend to focus on anyway. Love, fun, laughter,  living joy fully, sharing, dancing, and even simplicity.

May this next year be full of Love, Light, Laughter, Fun, Joy and Beauty!

All the best in 2011!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. B
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 10:55:02

    Shine on, Kacie. =D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

