I actually am happy.

A question was posted on a hooping forum I am member of. The question was: ” Are you happy?  No seriously?Are you  happy?”

My answer seemed like something I might as well  share here as well as on the board.

” I am happy. Not always of course, sometimes I get kind of down, sad or angry, but it generally passes quickly and I’m back to my baseline state of happy. I’m not all and rainbows and puppies, but there are moments- many moments lately when I’m not just happy, I’m joyful and I actually feel like I might just explode into confetti sparkles. I really try not to be nauseating about it, but I’m sure I’ve annoyed people who don’t want happiness around them.

It’s taken a lot of hard work to get to this place though. A lot of self discovery, a lot of introspection and dealing with old emotions that I had just ignored at the time. Lots of (don’t laugh, it was pretty helpful) inner child work, lots of journaling, meditation, prayer, physical activity,  lots of work on identifying what I actually wanted out of life and then manifesting that. I read hundreds of self help books, I’ve gone on lots of retreats and workshops.

I think the most important thing I’ve learned about happiness for me is that I am the one who is responsible for my own happiness. No one else is. I get to choose how I react to every single event, every moment of my life. I might as well choose to be happy and to make choices that make me happy.  Now, I know that if you are chemically depressed it’s not as easy as just this, but it still comes down to making choices and taking personal responsibility for your life.

You create your reality with your thoughts. If you think life sucks, it will. The more you love life, the more it will love you back. It is the law of attraction, the secret… whatever you call it, we live the life we think of.

Whatever you think of comes back to you… If you focus on the crap, what you lack, what sucks and what has made you unhappy in the past, you just wind up attracting more of it into your life. It sounds so trite, but there really is something to the whole positive thinking jazz.

You can train your brain, and choose your thoughts. It’s really tough at first, but you can use things like meditation and NLP (neurolinguistic programming) to change your thought patterns and put them under your control. Then, you can consciously create your reality. Gratitude is one of the most powerful ways of cultivating thing. Practicing gratitude automatically changes your thoughts and will actually change your life. After awhile it becomes a habit and things start to get crazy wonderful when you are grateful for everything that is.

Once you’d created happy, healthy thought habits, you have the power to create the life that makes you happy. You get to choose happiness in every moment.

Barney Stinson said it best. “One morning I woke up and I was sad, and then I decided to be awesome instead. True story!”

After years of learning how, I can finally do this and it’s more rewarding that I can even explain.
Life becomes awesome at a whole ‘nother level.

Leave a Reply

