Seeing The Sacred

 

 

 

Albert Einstein said,

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.”

I know it’s sometimes hard to keep that in mind, but life is so much more joyful when you can see the miracles surrounding you every day. It’s easy to get swept up in the mundane, or to get caught up in dividing the sacred and the profane.  There really isn’t any difference though. Everything comes from the same source, the same light, the same primordial sound (Ohm/love), therefore everything is sacred. Even the muck on the bottom of your shoe, the subway tracks and Pauly Shore movies.

I love those moments  and images that stop you in your tracks and remind you that everything is a miracle, even if it’s just stumbling across a photo on line.

My eye surgery has  been amazing, but my vision isn’t perfect, and it’s been a little frustrating cause I have a harder time reading than I used to (no long term worries, I’m sure we’ll get it sorted). But the surgery has had the added bonus of helping me to see the sacred in the mundane every day. I knew that halos and starbursts around lights were a very probable side effect of the surgery, lasting for months, or perhaps forever.  I was pretty optimistic I could handle them, I used to have them when I wore contacts. It turns out, they’re huge, and kind of imposing at night, or when the sun glints off something shiny like the faucet on my kitchen sink. But they are gorgeous. Everything is swathed in halos, shimmery and kind of resplendent. Everything now looks as sacred as it really is.

 

Leave a Reply

