Cultivating Gratitude

 

I haven’t blogged much yet about gratitude, which is strange, because it’s something I think about all the time.  Actually, when I started actively cultivating gratitude in my life, my whole life changed. Something shifted and everything just became more wonderful, literally. I was full of wonder and awe at all the amazingness that life has to offer.

Gratitude is pretty much a standard part of any spiritual life or philosophy. You hear a lot about giving thanks, and being grateful for what you have. But how often do you really take a few minutes to feel gratitude for what is?

A few years ago, I started seeing number combination’s of 1, 2, 3’s and 0’s on the clock constantly. It seemed like I would just happen to glance at the clock at 1:23, 11:23, 11:32, 10:23, 10:32 and so on every day.  Morning and night. I felt like I was being guided to see those numbers, and I felt it might mean something. I couldn’t figure out what the meaning was (not that I looked that hard into it), so I just took it as a sign to take a moment out, and be grateful. Sometimes I would think of something specific, and other times it was just a general shout out, a ‘Thank you!’ to the universe.

As time went on, gratitude became such a habit, that I was feeling it at other times than when I looked at the clock or saw a number combination. I started feeling it more intensely as well, with every fiber of my being, a true gratefulness for absolutely everything.

I found out later that the numbers have several meanings, but basically they state that you are being guided, and your thoughts are manifesting, so keep your thoughts positive and your intentions of the highest order.

As I cultivated this gratitude, my thoughts naturally became more positive. You manifest what you think of, so as this happened,  more and more awesomeness manifested in my life.

And for that,  I am incredibly grateful.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarah jane
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 09:11:51

    That’s really interesting re the synchronicity with the time. For the past couple of months, I’ve noticed that frequently when I check the time, it’s 11:11, or 2:22 or 4:44 (which is apparently bad?). Being still a little cynical, I believed it was just cos I was more conscious of it as it only started happening (that I was aware of) after I saw an interview with Maynard from Tool mentioning it happening to a lot of people after they’ve experimented a little with drugs and become more in tune with the force. But other funny stuff started happening around the same time, like I’d finish reading a paragraph in a book and, being someone who doesn’t have the best attention span, I’d log onto facebook a minute later and someone has quoted that exact paragraph in their update. So it has definitely made me wonder if it means something and if so, what. I think I might do as you though, and use it as a reminder to be grateful, as I’m ashamed to be admit it’s something I’ve been neglecting lately.

    p.s. I’m not a total random, I’m jAded from VB in case you’re wondering who the hell I am 🙂

    Reply

    • bringingyouohm
      Oct 28, 2010 @ 03:17:09

      Hi jAded!!
      It is funny how the more you notice, the more you notice 🙂
      But I definitely think that it has a lot to do with becoming more in tune with the force. You start to notice so many more little things. Synchronicity surrounds us, but only some of us actually pay enough attention.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

